My First Photo Exhibit Is Up (And I Hope to Return to Regular Blogging Soon)

Posted: May 2, 2014 in Creativity, Fireworks, Happiness, Photography
Tags: , , , , ,

Big news at Points-of-View. For most of the life of my blog I have posted on it on a more-or-less daily basis and I have been visiting the blogs of others at least as regularly. That schedule helped me to remain part of the blogging community by sharing my work and enabled me to see what others were doing. My participation dropped off in the past couple of months for three reasons; one of which was finally taken care of YESTERDAY!! For months I have been preparing for my very first photo exhibit – a solo exhibit – and it opened on May 1.

Getting the exhibit together was far more challenging than I expected. It title is “Metal Works” because all of the photos are printed on/fused into sheets of aluminum. The gallery space for the show is in the “Upper Lounge” of the Lowell Center, which is on the University of Wisconsin – Madison campus and is one of the conference centers . The Upper Lounge is actually a large space that doubles as the main entrance to the building. It features gallery space for 20-25 photos in an area that also includes a large fireplace, cozy chairs and, perhaps not surprisingly, a grand piano. Numerous events, receptions and other activities occur in and around the Upper Lounge (friends of ours actually had their wedding reception there). While the Upper Lounge makes it a nice venue for showing photos to a wide range of people, doing it with 25 aluminum photos presented challenges that we a little unusual as I tried to match the subject matter of the photo as well as the reflectivity of the media vis-à-vis the subject matter and the lighting conditions.

The good news is that it all came together quite nicely.  My wife put together a piece about the show that she shared with our relatives. I’m attaching it here to thank her for all of her help in getting the show opened! Below that is a photo showing my split personality (me and my reflection off of the grand piano in the Upper Lounge exhibit space).

Kim's iPhone Photo of Rob's Exhibit

Metal Works Photos All Hung - May 01, 2014 - 0001

Comments
  1. Anonymous says:

    Congrats. Looking forward to the reception and seeing the exhibit.

    Like

  2. kiwiskan says:

    fantastic – congratulations. Who does the aluminium printing? I’ve never seen it over here, and it looks fantastic

    Like

    • beluga53 says:

      Thanks. I am as much relieved as anything. The nice thing is that the exhibit is up for 2 months so that I can take my time to have a reception.

      I’m surprised someone isn’t doing aluminum printing over there since it seems as though everyone is trying to do it over here. I started to see it advertised about 2 years ago. There are two places that I think do a better job than others: Bay Photo labs (www.BayPhoto.com) and Aluminyze (www.Aluminyze.com). The results can be incredible.

      Like

  3. stinej says:

    Congratulations om your exhibit. 🙂

    Like

Please share your comments.

