More photos of bald eagles on the Wisconsin River. It was a great day to be out taking pictures – overcast, but not too cold (about 34 degrees). I would guess there were about 45-55 different bald eagles over the period that I was photographing them. I was using a Canon 70D with a 70-200mm f/4L IS USM zoom and 1.4x III extender (effective 280 focal length).

Bald Eagles - January 10, 2014 - 178

This photo is of an immature bald eagle just after picking up a fish. The splash on the left is a duck diving for cover (unnecessarily, but not surprisingly).

The next photo is of an immature bald eagle just before picking up a fish. The view is from behind the eagle.

Bald Eagles

I am not at all knowledgeable about bald eagles compared to the people who have worked with them and/or photographed them for many, many years. I say this as a lead in to the photo below, which I am pretty sure was a very bad thing but I hope someone will correct me and made my day. The photo below is of a small immature bald eagle walking on the shore of the Wisconsin River. I can’t think of a lot of reasons why a little bald eagle would be down there and none of what I could come up with was good, but I would appreciate any enlightenment.

Bald Eagles - January 10, 2014 - 224-Edit

Finally this particular bald eagle spent a whole lot of time just standing on the ice out in the river. It didn’t really do much except look back and forth, turn around a couple of times and have a couple of juvenile birds stop in for brief visits and a squabble (must be a parent). I just happen to like this photo.

Bald Eagle Watch - January 10, 2014 - 362-Edit-2

Please share your comments.

