I was observing wildlife yesterday at one of the locations that I often visit in the Madison area when I spotted what I was pretty sure was a bald eagle (quickly confirmed) circling above. I wasn’t ready for it since I had been focused on wildlife in the water (more later) – i.e., manual focus on a tripod with stabilization off while using remote shutter release. The bald eagle came down to land in a tree faster than I expected. I got one barely worthwhile interesting shot. Here it is, still rather so-so after quite a bit of clean up:

Bald Eagle in Flight - September 30, 2013 - 100

What happened next is the exciting part. It took a while to find the eagle in the trees, but when I did imagine my surprise when peering through my viewfinder I saw two bald eagles perched on a branch together.

Two Bald Eagles in Warner Park II - September 30, 2013 - 104

Two Bald Eagles in Warner Park - September 30, 2013

Unfortunately, perching on that branch is pretty much all they did and they did it while facing away from me. When they finally left, they flew away from my camera through the trees. I didn’t see a nest, but I’ll be visiting regularly to see what develops.

Comments
  1. […] he stated on his site, I wasn’t ready for it since I had been focused on wildlife in the water (more later) – i.e., […]

    Like

  2. kiwiskan says:

    …I love those excited blurred photos. I take heaps of them 🙂 Good that you got a better pic later.

    Like

Please share your comments.

