Ese’s Weekly Shoot & Quote Challenge – Scent

Posted: September 29, 2013 in Landscapes, Nature, Oregon, Photography
Tags: , , , ,

Columbia River Gorge -Vista House Promentory

The smell of a pines forest has always been a little magical to me. I expect this can be readily explained away as some childhood association with Christmas. After all, I was born in mid-November and smelled my first pine tree a month or so later when the family Christmas tree went up. Pine/Christmas trees certainly have strong associations with nice things for me. Whatever the reason, I cannot gainsay the fairy tale and magic association that comes along with the scent of pine. So when I learned that Ese’s Weekly Shoot & Quote Challenge was “Scent” my mind went to pine trees. I couldn’t decide between two quotes so I hope you enjoy the photo and quotes and I hope that you will forgive me for my dual submissions. The first quote is more directly applicable to the challenge, but I liked the optimism in the second quote and I’m convinced that it likely would have been about pine scent if only Mr. Douglass had been standing in a pine forest when he wrote it:). The photo is of Crown Point on the Columbia River in Oregon.

I remember a hundred lovely lakes and recall the fragrant breath of pine and fir and cedar and poplar trees. The trail has strung upon it, as upon a thread of silk, opalescent dawns and  saffron sunsets. ~ Hamlin Garland

The pine stays green in winter… wisdom in hardship. ~ Norman Douglas

Comments
  1. Amy says:

    Gorgeous view! Love the smell of pines 🙂

    Like

  2. Ese' s Voice says:

    Amazing photo, by all means…and pines, that freshness in their scent that always makes me think of home….

    Like

Please share your comments.

