Ese’s Weekly Shoot & Quote Challenge – Bare

Posted: September 16, 2013 in Commentary, Creativity, Photography, Photos Taken Within 100 Meters of Home
Tags: , ,

This was the toughest Shoot & Quote Challenge so far. First I’ll give you the photo and the quote and then I’ll explain how I got here.

The Desk - September 16, 2013 - 053-Edit

“The plain fact is that there are no conclusions.” – James Hopwood Jeans,

Okay, here is the reasoning. I know this isn’t required, but it is a part of the challenge for me.

Bare can mean many things. Some things come to mind more rapidly than others but there are a number of possibilities. Being a rather shy guy and not prone to addressing the first possible meaning of bare that might have come to mind I headed for the dictionary and thesaurus. The thesaurus was most helpful, reminding me that the synonyms of bare included (at least for my purposes): simple, unadorned, plain, basic, unembellished and undecorated. Bingo, I had the photo now. I knew what I wanted to do for the photo, which as I think you will see is pretty much described by all of those synonyms. Now to get the quote. It is almost impossible to conduct a search on the Internet for “bare” without running into something to worry about. As a result, I searched for the synonyms to see what I might stumble across. I read hundreds of quotes, whew! Like I said above, this was not easy. But in the end it was very rewarding. I think the quote resonates very nicely with bare in a variety of ways. For example, it seems to me that the “plain fact” it refers to is more or less the “naked truth” (thus tying one of the other meanings of “bare” in to this response.  The quote itself is sparse, simple, basic and unadorned by superfluous words or overblown rhetoric. Finally, the quote is of a studied nature, which of course fits the desk.

I hope you enjoy my contribution.

 

Comments
  1. Ese' s Voice says:

    I really enjoyed the unsual turn your mind took on the prompt. No conclusions, everything is open for interpretation. And the photo really does set the mood.

    Like

Please share your comments.

