Hummingbird Moth Hummingbird Moth2

I was walking the dogs two days ago and saw what looked like two pretty big bugs flitting around some flowers. When we got closer, what appeared to be bugs turned out to look more like small hummingbirds. Their wings were moving very fast and they were moving rapidly from plant to plant. These guys were about 1.5 – 2 inches long with about a 3 inch wingspread. It was pretty cool. Unfortunately, I didn’t have my camera with me and my iPhone couldn’t catch anything. Near dusk I saw the same little hummingbirds in our front garden. Hooray I thought since I had been checking for them regularly and was ready with my camera. It was getting dark pretty quickly, but a whole “flock” of-hummingbirds – at least half a dozen – were feeding in the garden. I pushed the ISO up to 3200 and started shooting. Eventually I even used the flash, which surprisingly didn’t seem to bother the hummingbirds as they went about their feeding frenzy. When I got inside and finally got a good look at my hummingbirds, I was pretty surprised to see that they had six legs, two antenna and very sadly were either a huge new discovery (a bird/insect hybrid) or more likely were an insect. After checking the Internet, I discovered that these little mimics were hummingbird moths, specifically White-lined Sphinx Hummingbird Moths. Ahhhh, a great disappointment because I’ve never photographed a hummingbird. They are interesting none-the-less. I didn’t even know they existed so live and learn.

Comments
  1. seeker says:

    The moth is just as pretty as the hummers.

    Like

Please share your comments.

