A Word A Week Photo Challenge - Bisect (Rainbow)

We were traveling through North Dakota last month. It had been threatening to rain on and off for several hours but we hadn’t gotten any. I was looking out the car in one direction when my wife called out that there was this really beautiful rainbow on the other side. Indeed there was and I was able to get quite a few shots of it. While the rainbow was really nifty, when I downloaded the photos into my computer I wasn’t terribly surprised to find that they didn’t quite have the pizzazz I recalled when I was taking them. One’s mind’s eye often adds quite a bit of punch to landscape photos.

I realized this was the perfect time to try a technique I had read about in Harold Davis‘ wonderful book “Creative Landscapes – Digital Photography Tips and Techniques.” This is the best book on the subject of digital photo techniques that I have ever read and I frequently refer to it, as can be seen by its dog-eared pages and the fact that it is almost perpetually next to my computer. The technique used here involves the use of Lab Color, which separates the grayscale information in a photo from the color information. This ultimately can allow you to draw out much more vivid colors in your photos. [Note: This is not hard to do, but it requires some practice. I am not going to attempt to explain how to do it here. If you want more information, I suggest you find a resource like Mr. Davis’ book to learn the technique.] I finished this photo about 10 minutes before I checked to see what the Word a Week Photo Challenge was. When I saw that it was bisect, I was happy I had worked on this photo since the rainbow does indeed bisect the photo.

Comments
  1. […] A Word A Week Photo Challenge – Bisect (Rainbow) (points-of-view.com) […]

    Like

  2. […] A Word A Week Photo Challenge – Bisect (Rainbow) […]

    Like

  3. mhdriver says:

    Perfect photo for the subject and what a stunning rainbow. Great photo.

    Like

  4. holley4734 says:

    Great photo! I’ve been looking for rainbows. Waiting for it to stop raining. 🙂 http://holley4734.wordpress.com/

    Like

Please share your comments.

