I was photographing some moss that was growing in a sheltered space in a rock in our backyard. The moss “forest” was my main subject and was interesting enough but while I was reviewing the photos I quite unexpectedly spotted this little guy. This was so small that I didn’t notice it at all when I took the photo, nor even when I first review it. I just happen to take a close look at something near this when I saw this marble like structure and looking more closely saw the mite on top. He looked like he was thinking “What Now”? (In looking at the original I’d say this entire photo is about 1/250th of the original shot. The only way to I was able to look this good was using Perfect Resize (formerly Genuine Fractals), which can do a really nice job in many circumstances. By the way, I have tried to find out what the marble-like structure and/or the mite are without success so if anyone who sees this actually knows, please let me know.

Comments
  1. kiwiskan says:

    Looks like a drop of water hanging off the top of the moss

    Like

    • beluga53 says:

      Interesting idea. It could involve the reflection of something. I don’t thin it is a drop of water because of the stubby end that the mite is one. But honestly, I don’t know what it is, so your guess is as good s mine Thanks for checking it out.

      Like

Please share your comments.

