A Word A Week Challenge – Angles (Denver International Airport)

Posted: May 27, 2013 in Commentary, Humor, Photography
Tags: , , , , , , ,

A Word A Week Challenge - Angles (Denver International Airport)

I am slightly embarrassed to admit that I have always wondered what the item in this photo is. I have to blame myself because no doubt there is a plaque or some other display near where it stands in the Denver International Airport. When I took this photo, I had time and even were I but a slow-moving stream I could none-the-less have meandered my way to that place where I imagine that I could have formed a puddle to further slow myself and discover what I am now forced to speculate about. After that sentence I feel I need to remind the reader that the question at hand is what the item in the photo is 🙂 In fact, I suppose that at this very moment I could Google it, but then I would know what it was and would have no reason to speculate and I would now be done writing and my fingers are still restless.
Since this item is indoors and rather open, I assume it was not designed as a shelter, or if it was, then only for Fijians or other south sea residents and then only on those days when no shelter is really needed (I didn’t see any signs, but perhaps the whole thing was a Fiji Water promotion). Given the lack of any obvious functionality, I ultimately assumed it was an Objet d’art (a fancy way for an American to say, or at least write, “art object” and a term often used by people who do not want to seem intellectually superior or to intimidate others, but rather solely to enlighten them, or perhaps not). But, I digress.
Oh, before I forget, while it is not precisely incumbent on me, I since this photo is part of a challenge – albeit one where I do not think words are a part of the winning – and the challenge involves angles the photo you see above you is just chuck full of angles. Okay, now that I have business taken care of …
Whether this is an objet or an object or whether it is art or d’art it is hard to see that it has many possible purposes. One might be as perhaps psychological eye candy for the harried commuter (of which there is one who is just exiting the walkway). However, I have to question the wisdom of anyone who actually purposed (don’t you just hate it when people make up words like “purposed”) this objet to this end. Think about it. The harried commuter finds relief from a stressful day of travel as she is transfixed by the mesmerizing beauty of the objet (please put up with me, I am suspending reality here and this is my tale) while she traverses the walkway under this objet. It is so relaxing and peaceful. The objet has achieved the goals set for it by both the artist and the people who paid for the objet. Tragically, while so transfixed our weary traveler is abruptly ejected from the moving walkway since she neglected to ready herself for its end. Oops. She and her husband own the best personal injury law firm in the Denver area, the objet is quickly removed. Or not, The laws have been changed and the airport authority cannot be sued, our lawyer was just the beginning of a tidal wave of injuries, thousands of what come to be known as the “transfixed” are hurt every year, a new wing of the hospital is opened to take care of the permanently transfixed, but hundreds of thousands love the objet. Ok, suspension of reality is concluded.
Perhaps our objet is just an item to be admired from afar to soothe the traveler. Perhaps it was designed to encourage the traveler to set and have a bite to eat to assist the local economy. Surrounded by restaurants, our objet’s incongruous combination of wide arches and clunky rectangles set into thick concrete supports with multicolored pulsating lights mayhap has been extensively focus group tested and actually says nothing more to most people than let’s spend some money here. It wouldn’t surprise me since I don’t really understand the consumer culture very well. Well, my fingers are at least tired. If anyone actually know what this objet is, please leave the information in a comments. If not, I may someday be forced to Google it.

Comments
  1. There are many angles in this photo! Great shot!

    Like

  2. […] points-of-view.com/2013/0… […]

    Like

  3. Tina Schell says:

    Great choice. Been there many times, never really looked. Shame on me!

    Like

Please share your comments.

