Thoughts on Website Revisions

Posted: May 9, 2013 in Miscellaneous

I am still new to blogging. I have already learned that it is more work than I expected, but it is also a great deal of fun. I enjoy sending my photos out into the world to see what people think of them. I don’t know if people enjoy the somewhat quirky comments that often accompany them, but I like to think some of you do and I enjoy writing them. I wish I received more comments and feedback, but I hope that will come over time.

I have decided that this site, Points of View, is going to focus on my photography (no pun intended). I am going to be trying some new themes and menu designs to see if I can make it more visually appealing. If any of you have a theme that you think would work for what I have been doing over the last couple of months, let me know and I will check it out.

One thing I am struggling to address is that my life is more than just taking photographs. I am quite interested, for example, in science, economics and politics. After having this site up for a couple of months now, I have come to realize that Points of View can’t accommodate all of these interests without giving it a split personality.  Frankly, in 99.9% of the cases (probably more), I don’t care about the politics of the people who like my photos or whose photos I like. I imagine the reverse is true for most of you who are taking the time to read this.  I have been thinking about how to fix Points of View to accommodate everything that I would like to post, but I the longer that I have thought about it, the more I have come to believe that the solution to this problem will end up with Points of View having a “sister site” that is an “issues” site that pulls in some of my photos. There will probably be a link between the two sites so that anyone who is interested can see what is on the other site and move from one to the other easily.  

One of the many of problems that I anticipate in having two linked WordPress sites is that I don’t actually know whether this can be done (I just thought of it this morning). Assuming it can be done, I’d appreciate any thoughts about whether it is a good idea as well as any suggestions as to where I might find the resources for how to do it.

I suspect that all of this may end up disrupting Points of View for a little bit. I hope you will stick with me as I make a few changes to improve the site.

Please share your comments.

