Angel Flowers

This is probably my most unusual photo. It is actually a photo of the flower of a small ornamental grass. The flower is roughly 1 cm in size. You can see one of the grass seeds inside of the ball for comparison. Even with a macro lens, when I took the photo I was principally focused on the grass and took a few photos of the flowers just in passing and not in any detail. It turned out that for the most part the flowers aren’t anything special as flowers unless you work very hard to find just the right angle and even then they are just sort of white flowers against the brown grass background. However, if you are very, very persistent because you think there just might be something there, and you try as many different techniques as you can think of, you just might come up with something that looks at least a bit angelic and is perhaps a worthy contestant (this is my last one this week, I swear), in the Word A Word Week Photo Challenge – Colour.

Comments
  1. yourothermotherhere says:

    It looks so delicate and fairy-like.

    Like

  2. Lynne Ayers says:

    Love this and what you did with it.

    Like

    • beluga53 says:

      Thanks. It was fun and a challenge (once I thought I might be able to do it) trying to get them to “fly” together almost wing to wing as though the one “outside” of the “world” was supporting the one inside. I’m not even sure that I could do it again.

      Like

    • beluga53 says:

      Photoshop and a plug-in is called Filter Forge. The filters are all free and I used one called “Glass Ball Shot.”

      Like

  3. elleturner4 says:

    I love this photo 🙂

    Like

Please share your comments.

